Elizabeth A. Semler
503.243.1661 x 264
 

Employment eAlert: Oregon Minimum Wage is Going Up!

March 2016

Elizabeth A. Semler
503.243.1661 x 264

Beginning July 1, 2016, Oregon's minimum wage in urban counties will increase to  $9.75/hour, and will continue to increase over the next 7 years until it reaches $14.75/hour.  The increases are scheduled as follows:

  • From July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017, $9.75
  • From July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, $11.25
  • From July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, $12.00
  • From July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020, $12.50
  • From July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021, $13.25
  • From July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022, $14.00
  • From July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023, $14.75

For employers in nonurban counties, the minimum wage will increase over the next 7 years from $9.50/hour to $12.50/hour as follows:

  • From July 1, 2016, to June 30, 2017, $9.50
  • From July 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, $10.00
  • From July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019, $10.50
  • From July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020, $11.00
  • From July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021, $11.50
  • From July 1, 2021, to June 30, 2022, $12.00
  • From July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023, $12.50

Nonurban counties include: Baker; Coos; Crook; Curry; Douglas; Gilliam; Grant; Harney; Jefferson; Klamath; Lake; Malheur; Morrow; Sherman; Umatilla; Union; Wallowa; and Wheeler.

 

The new law can be found here: https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2016R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB1532

 

Check out our Employment Law Blog to stay updated on current issues: employmentlaw.sussmanshank.com.

Related Practice Areas

Employment

Return to Articles